Monday, June 27, 2011

Labour Day Awards 2011

Boysie Moore-Jones & John Jaglal 

The Cipriani College of Labour and Co-operative Studies in conjunction with the Ministry of Labour and Small and Micro Enterprise Development held their inaugural Labour Day Awards Function at the CLR James Auditorium, Valsayn Campus on Monday 27th June 2011.

This was part of the Ministry’s month long celebration of workers’ rights and the impact of the trade union movement. The theme of the celebrations was: “A Worker without Rights is like a worker without tools. Know your Rights; It’s your Responsibility.”

Recipients were chosen from a select group of individuals who, because of  their innovative and visionary leadership, contributed greatly to the continuous struggle of the working class for equality and social justice.

The list of awardees also represented persons from a wide cross section of Trinidad and Tobago’s economy whose leadership and superior organizational/negotiation skills within their respective fields have been exemplary. Amongst them were individuals representing the Agricultural, Manufacturing and Technology, Education, Small Business and Entrepreneurship, Tourism and Financial sectors of the economy.

In his address, the Honourable Errol Mc Leod, Minister of Labour and Small and Micro Enterprise Development, commenting on the exemplary work and contributions of the honorees reflected on the fact that “It was the groundwork and persistence of ordinary men and women that continue to regenerate itself 
in the aspirations of our present-day countrymen and women like you. He also commended the awardees for their selfless contributions by emphasizing that “In your own unique ways, you possess the essence of nobility of spirit that inspired you to strive for excellence and defy injustice without seeking selfish gain”.

The Minister’s sentiments were also echoed in the introductory remarks of the Director of Cipriani College of Labour and Co-operative Studies, Dr. Ian SakuraLemessy who stated that “It is often said that a measure of a nation’s maturity is the degree to which that society exhibits an element of gratitude particularly in acknowledging those individuals who either by their capacity to lead, their ingenuity, or some other unique quality have distinguished themselves by virtue of their contributions to the betterment of others.”

In her own inimitable style, songstress Ella Andall brought the curtain down on 
the proceedings by delivering several renditions from her expansive repertoire; all 
in keeping with the theme of the awards function.

Inaugural Labour Day Awards  Winners:

Special Award - Ms. Thelma Williams 

Beryl Yearwood Award - (Co-operatives)- Mr. William Guadeloupe 

Noel Bowen Award (Co-operatives)- Mr. Trevor Alleyne 

CLR James Award (Labour Education)-Dr. Roosevelt Williams;

Uriah Butler Award (Contribution to the Labour Movement) - Mr. Owen Hinds (posthumously)

Cola Rienzi Awards (Contribution to the Labour Movement) - Mr. Boysie Moore-Jones

Elma Francois Award - (Contribution to the Labour Movement) - Ms. Clotil Walcott (posthumously)

Link :

No comments:

Post a Comment